Allergy-Friendly Snickerdoodle Rice Krispies Treats


Allergy-Friendly Snickerdoodle Rice Krispies
Yum
Votes: 0
Rating: 0
You:
Rate this recipe!
Print Recipe
A fun twist on the classic Rice Krispie treat that adds cinnamon to both the marshmallow mixture, as well as a delicious coating on top. Free of the top allergens: gluten, dairy, egg, soy, peanuts & tree nuts--along with a vegan option--this is a great way to please a crowd even with diverse diets.
Servings Prep Time
15 Bars 20 Minutes
Servings Prep Time
15 Bars 20 Minutes
Allergy-Friendly Snickerdoodle Rice Krispies
Yum
Votes: 0
Rating: 0
You:
Rate this recipe!
Print Recipe
A fun twist on the classic Rice Krispie treat that adds cinnamon to both the marshmallow mixture, as well as a delicious coating on top. Free of the top allergens: gluten, dairy, egg, soy, peanuts & tree nuts--along with a vegan option--this is a great way to please a crowd even with diverse diets.
Servings Prep Time
15 Bars 20 Minutes
Servings Prep Time
15 Bars 20 Minutes
Ingredients
  • 5 Tablespoons coconut oil
  • 10 cups (1 bag) marshmallows if Vegan, use Dandies
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 5 cups Rice Krispie cereal see notes for gluten-free options
  • ¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2 Tablespoons granulated sugar
Servings: Bars
Units:
Instructions
  1. Grease or use a non-stick large saucepan and warm it to medium-low. Add the coconut oil and marshmallows. Stir until the marshmallows are melted.
  2. Take the saucepan off the heat and add the vanilla, salt and cinnamon. Once that is all incorporated, add your cereal, one cup at a time until everything is coated well.
  3. Pour it into a 13x9 greased pan. Either grease or wet your hands to press it down and into the shape of the pan.
  4. While the krispies are still warm, in a small bowl stir together your topping. Sprinkle evenly over the top.
  5. Allow the bars to cool and then serve. Keep room temperature, as the coconut oil will make them too hard if they become cold. Keep covered.
Recipe Notes

While these are wheat-free, they are not gluten-free, as typical and generic brands of rice Krispies use barley in all the brands.  Malt-0-Meal & Erewhon offer great, gluten-free substitutions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.